BPS Council

The British Pain Society Council is made up of up to six Officers and up to nine Council Members. The Council also has the power to co-opt any person to provide expertise in a particular area as may be deemed necessary.

Dates of future Council meetings can be found at the bottom of the page.

If you would like to contact the President, Honorary Secretary or the Honorary Treasurer of the Society, you may send an email using the following addresses:

To contact any other Council member, please email info@britishpainsociety.org

The current Members of Council of the British Pain Society are listed below.


  1. Officers
  2. Elected members of Council
  3. Co-opted members of Council
  4. Dates of future Council meetings
  5. BPS Internal Structure


Dr Andrew Baranowski
                picture of dr andrew baranowski  

Qualifications: BScHons, MBBS, FRCA, MD, FFPMRCA
Term of office: 2016-2019



Prof. Roger Knaggs
Honorary Secretary 


Dr Heather Cameron
Honorary Treasurer

Qualifications: BSc(hons) MRPharms PhD BMedSci
Term of office: 2016-2019
Qualifications: PhD, MSc, Grad Dip Phys
Term of office: 2016-2019


Dr Martin Johnson
Vice President


Dr Paul Wilkinson
Vice President

                    picture of dr martin johnson
Qualifications: MB ChB DRCOG DCh MRCGP
Term of office: 2016-2018

Qualifications: MBBS MRCGP FRCA BMedSci
Term of office: 2016-2018

Back to top

Elected members of Council

Prof. Sam Ahmedzai 
Qualifications: BSc Hons MBChB FRCP
Term of office: 2015-2018

Dr Arun Bhaskar
Term of office: 2017-2020 (2nd term)

Dr Paul Cameron
Qualifications: BSc Hons PGCert
Term of office: 2015-2018 (2nd term)

Dr Ayman Eissa
Qualifications: MBBCH FRCA
Term of office: 2017-2020

Dr Tim Johnson
Qualifications: MBBS FRCA FFPMRCA MEd
Term of office: 2016-2019 (2nd term)

Dr Sarah Love-Jones
Qualifications: BSc MBBS FRCA FFPMRCA
Term of office: 2015-2018

Dr Zoey Malpus
Qualifications:DClin Psy PGDIP Bsc
Term of office: 2016-2019

Dr David Glyn Williams
Qualifations:MBBS FRCA
Term of Office 2016-2019

Back to top

Co-opted members of Council

Mr Neil Betteridge 
Representative of the Chronic Pain Policy Coalition (CPPC)
Term of office: 2017-2018

Dr Elaine Boland
Representative of the Association of Palliative Medicine
Terms of office: 2016-2017

Mr Antony Chuter
Chair, Patient Liaision Committee
Term of office: 2015-2018 (2nd Term)

Ms Felicia Cox
Editor, British Journal of Pain & Royal College of Nursing 
Term of office: 2014-2018

Prof. Sam Eldabe
Chair, Science & Research Committee
Term of office: 2013-2018

Dr Barry Miller
Representative: Faculty of Pain Medicine of the Royal College of Anaesthetists
Term of office: 2016-2018

Dr Arasu Rayen
Editor, Pain News
Term of office: 2016 - 2019

Prof. Andrew Rice
Representative: International Association for the Study of Pain (IASP)
Term of office: 2016 - 2017

Prof. David Walsh
Chair, Scientific Programme Committee
Term of office: 2017-2020

Dr Amanda C de C Williams
Representative: Science
Term of office: 2016-2018

Back to top

Dates of future Council meetings

The British Pain Society Council usually meets four times a year at the Society’s headquarters in London.


  • 30th November


  • 8th February
  • 13th June
  • 26th September
  • 1st November

Back to top

BPS Internal Structure

BPS Internal Structure 


Back to top