BPS Committees

The British Pain Society currently has six Committees; Communications, Education, Executive & Finance, Scientific Programme, Patient Voice and Science & Research. The Committees are multidisciplinary in membership and reflect the various activities of the Society. Below is a description of the Committees and a list of members.


  1. Communications
  2. Education
  3. Executive and Finance
  4. Awards Committee (sub-Committee of Execs & Finance Committee)
  5. The Patient Voice Committee (TPVC)
  6. Science and Research Committee
  7. Scientific Programme Committee


The Communications Committee is responsible for ensuring that information and publications produced by the Society are made accessible to the relevant audience in an appropriate format. The Communications Committee oversees the development of the Society website, publications, and quarterly Newsletter.

Position Name Specialty
Chair Mr Martin Hey Physiotherapy
  Dr Zoey Malpus Psychology
  Dr Raj Munglani Pain News
  Ms Felicia Cox BJP
  Mr Jim Blake  Lay Representative 
  Dr Amelia Swift Nursing
  Dr Tacson Fernandez Anaesthesia
  Dr Alan Fayaz Anaesthesia / Media Rep
  Dr David Pang Anaesthesia
  Ms Jenny Nicholas Secretariat

Back to top


The remit of the Education Committee is to deliver the IASP Core Curriculum for Education to those professionals involved in the management of pain through the inter-professional sharing of knowledge and experience. In accordance with this remit, the committee has developed the ‘Learning in Pain Series’; the series will run as a number of study days over three years (2006-2009). This programme will provide the opportunity for small groups to take part in lectures and interactive workshops around key issues in pain management highlighted within the IASP curriculum

Position Name Specialty
Chair Dr Amelia Swift Education / Nursing
  Prof. Sam Ahmedzai Palliative Medicine
  Dr Anna Andreou Chair, Headache SIG
  Mr Tim Atkinson Lay Rep
  Dr Athanasia Chatziperi Anaesthesia
  Prof. Margaret Dunham Chair, Pain in Older People SIG
  Dr Ashish Gulve Anaesthesia
  Dr Patrick Hill Psychology
  Ms Gail Sowden Representative, Pain Management Programmes SIG
  Mrs Kate Thompson Chair, Pain Education SIG
  Dr Glyn Towlerton Chair, Medicolegal SIG
  Jenny Nicholas Secretariat

Back to top

Executive and Finance

The Executive and Finance Committee is made up of the Officers of Council. The Committee is responsible for matters concerning finance, administration and staffing, in addition to finalising the agenda for Council meetings. The Committee has regular teleconferences.

Position Name Post
Chair Dr Arun Bhaskar President
  Prof. Roger Knaggs President Elect
  Dr Ayman Eissa Honorary Secretary 
  Dr Neil Collighan Honorary Secretary Elect
  Dr Ashish Gulve Honorary Treasurer 
  Ms Jenny Nicholas CEO

Back to top

Awards Committee (sub-Committee of Execs & Finance Committee)

This Committee is a sub-Committee of the Exec & Finance Committee. The aim of the Committee is to coordinate and review all British Society Awards and nominations, such as Honorary Membership, Medal of DIstinction, President Thank Yours, and Queens Honors.

Position Name
Chair Arun Bhaskar
Lay Rep Mark Farmer
Committee Member Tim Johnson
Committee Member Amanda Williams
CEO & Secretariat Support Jenny Nicholas

Back to top

The Patient Voice Committee (TPVC)

The Patient Voice Committee (TPVC) is responsible for ensuring that the views of patients are represented within the Society. Through The Patient Voice Committee, the Society is now working with patient representatives to improve patient information and to ensure that patients are consulted during the decision-making processes of the Society. The Committee has recently played a leading role in reviewing the British Pain Society's information for patients publication 'Understanding and Managing Pain' and plays a key role in the relationship between the British Pain Society and the Voluntary Sector.

Position Name Specialty
Chair Ms Victoria Abbott-Fleming MBE Lay member
  Mr Tim Atkinson Lay member
  Mr Jim Blake Lay member
  Ms Helen Bolter Lay member
  Mr Mark Farmer Lay member
  Mr Michael Pierson Lay member
  Mr Ryan Prout Lay member
  Mr Nick Richardson Lay member
  Mr Martin Hey Physiotherapy
  Prof. Sam Ahmedzai Palliative Medicine
  Dr Arun Bhaskar Ex Officio
  Jenny Nicholas Secretariat


Back to top

Science and Research Committee

This committee is responsible for implementing the Society's scientific and research strategies. Work of the Committee has ranged form advising the NHS and private health care organisations to supporting individual research projects of Society members. The Committee also makes decisions on the allocation of bursaries and awards to members of the Society.

Position Name Specialty
Chair Dr Andreas Goebel Anaesthesia/ Non-Trustee
  Prof. Roger Knaggs Pharmacology / Trustee
  Dr David Pang Anaesthesia & Pain Mgmt / Trustee
Co-Opted Member Dr Anuska Soni Rhuematology / Non-Trustee 
Co-Opted Member Dr Esther Williamson Academic Physiotherapist with clinical experience / Non-Trustee
Co-Opted Member Prof. Julie Bruce Research / Non-Trustee
  Ms Jenny Nicholas Secretariat

Back to top

Scientific Programme Committee

The Scientific Programme Committee oversees the programme for the Society's Annual Scientific Meeting to ensure that the scientific content is of the highest possible standard and that it reflects current theory and practice in all aspects of pain management.

Position Name Specialty
Chair Dr Stephen Ward Anaesthesia 
  Prof Sam Ahmedzai  Palliative Medicine 
  Dr Arun Bhaskar  Anaesthesia 
  Dr Paul Cameron  Physiotherapy 
  Dr Raj Munglani Editor, Pain News / Anasthesia 
  Ms Felicia Cox  Editor, BJP / Nursing 
  Dr Ashish Gulve  Anaesthesia 
  Prof Ed Keogh  Psychology 
  Dr Cathy Price  Anaesthesia 
  Dr Amelia Swift Nursing
  Dr Nick Plunkett FPM Representative
  Prof Gary Macfarlane Epidemiology
  Prof Roger Knaggs Pharmacy
  Ms Jenny Nicholas Secretariat

Back to top