Acute Pain Special Interest Group

The APSIG promotes the assessment, prevention and management of acute pain by:

a) Facilitating dissemination of good practice in acute pain management by enabling discussion and the exchange of guidelines and protocols.

b) Encouraging multidisciplinary acute pain education, research and audit.

c) Continuing support for a registry for acute pain.

d) Organising meetings, seminars and workshops on acute pain management.

e) Making links with other acute pain forums in the UK.


Sailesh Mishra


Suchi Kanagasundaram (Secretary)        

Devjit Srivastava (Treasurer)


Harriet Barker

Nilesh Chauhan

Sailesh Mishra

Mark Rockett

Pam Taylor

Colin Preece (PLC Representative)

Jane Quinlan (IASP rep)

Council Liaison Officer Dr R Krishnamoorthy
Year Formed 2004
Number of Members 190

Further information regarding the work of the SIG is available to BPS Members.

If you would like to join the Society to access the range of Special Interest Groups, please click here.

Site admin: please contact