Saying 'Thank-You'

From time to time, the Society chooses to recognise and make awards to both Members of the Society and/or individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the understanding of pain and its management.


  1. Medal of Distinction
  2. Honorary Membership

Medal of Distinction

This is the Society's premier award.  Typically, the nominee will be an Honorary Member of the British Pain Society, who has made an outstanding contribution to the BPS, as well as its aims and objectives over a sustained period of time (e.g. typically in excess of 10 years). (If the recipient is not already an Honorary Member, they shall also be granted Honorary Membership).

The British Pain Society is delighted to list the recipients of the Medal of Distinction as below:

  • Prof. Sir Michael Bond
  • Dr Douglas Justins
  • Dr Beverly Collett

Back to top

Honorary Membership

Honorary Membership is awarded to those who have made an outstanding contribution to the understanding of pain and its management and supported the British Pain Society's aims and activities. Membership fees for Honorary Members are waived and attendance at the Society’s Annual Scientific Meeting is complimentary.

Honorary Membership is awarded by election at the Annual General Meeting of the British Pain Society following proposal by Council.

The British Pain Society is delighted to list our current Honorary Members below:

Professor Nick Allcock
Dr Richard Atkinson
Professor Andrew Baranowski
Dr Jean-Marie Besson
Professor Sir Michael Bond
Dr David Bowsher
Professor Harald Breivik
Dr Keith Budd
Ms Vidyamala Burch
Dr William Campbell
Dr John Edmond Charlton
Dr Mark Duncan Churcher
Dr Frances Cole
Dr Beverly Collett
Professor Michael Cousins
Ms Felicia Cox
Dr Andrew William Diamond
Professor Anthony Dickenson
Dr Peter Evans
Professor Maria Fitzgerald
Mrs Jean Gaffin OBE
Dr John Goddard
Dr Thomas Kenneth Hardy
Dr Joan B Hester
Professor Troels S.Jensen
Dr Timothy Johnson
Dr Douglas M Justins
Professor Roger Knaggs
Professor Richard Langford
Dr Anne Packe Laughland
Dr William Macrae
Professor Christopher Main
Professor Henry McQuay
Professor Andrew Moore
Mr Peter Moore
Professor Stephen Morley
Mrs Heather Muncey
Dr Rajesh Munglani
Dr Timothy Paul Nash
Dr Pierluigi Petriccione Di Vadi
Dr Cathy Price
Mr Michael D Ridley
Professor John Warburton Thompson
Professor Kate Seers
Dr Cathy Stannard
Mrs Nia Taylor
Professor Paul Watson
Ms Heather Wallace
Dr J Christopher D Wells
Dr Paul Wilkinson
Dr Amanda C de C Williams
Dr Raymond Percy Wise
Professor John Wood

Back to top