SIG Members

The Pain Education SIG is made up of a group of multidisciplinary healthcare professionals. There are currently 253 members, which are made up of:-

Anaesthesia 76
Nursing 55
Physiotherapy 38
Psychology 31
Other professions 53

Name and BPS Roles

Role and Contact Details

Amelia Swift - Chair

Undergraduate group

Senior Lecturer (Nursing), NMAHPS Clinical Academic Lead (University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Trust) and University of Birmingham. 

Website: http://www.birmingham.ac.uk/staff/profiles/clinical-sciences/swift-amelia.aspx

Email: A.Swift@bham.ac.uk

Emma Briggs: Past-chair

Undergraduate group

Lecturer and King's Teaching Fellow, Kings College, London

Website: https://kclpure.kcl.ac.uk/portal/emma.briggs.html

Email: emma.briggs@kcl.ac.uk

Alison Twycross: Past-chair

Deputy Dean and Lead Nurse, Professor in Children’s Nursing at London South Bank University: 

Website: http://www.lsbu.ac.uk/about-us/people-finder/dr-alison-twycross

Email: a.twycross@lsbu.ac.uk

Sue Jenkins: Treasurer

Primary Care SIG

Senior Lecturer, Programmes' Director, Center of Medical Education, School of Medicine, Cardiff University

Website: https://www.cardiff.ac.uk/people/view/126429-jenkins-margaret

Email: jenkinssm1@cf.c.uk

Kate Thompson

Lead Undergraduate group

Communications

Senior Physiotherapy Lecturer, School of Clinical and Applied Sciences, Leeds Beckett University.

Website: http://www.leedsbeckett.ac.uk/staff/catherine-thompson/

Email: k.a.thompson@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Joanne Etherton

Undergraduate group

Lecturer, School Rehabilitation and Exercises Sciences, University of Essex

Website: https://www1.essex.ac.uk/sres/

Email: jethera@essex.ac.uk

Sailesh Mishra

Undergraduate group

Consultant in Pain Management and Anaesthesia , Acute Pain Lead, Associate Clinical Lecturer, Newcastle University Hospitals, Royal Victoria Infirmary, Newcastle Upon Tyne.

Email: Sailesh.Mishra@nuth.nhs.uk

Ed Keogh

Pain Education research group

Professor, Department of Psychology, University of Bath Deputy Director, Bath Centre for Pain Research, University of Bath

Website: http://www.bath.ac.uk/psychology/staff/edmund-keogh/

Email: e.m.keogh@bath.ac.uk

Chris Seenan

Senior Lecturer in Physiotherapy, Lead for Post-Registration Programmes, Department of Physiotherapy and Paramedicine, Glasgow Caledonian University 

Website: https://www.gcu.ac.uk/hls/staff/chrisseenan/ 

Email: Chris.Seenan@gcu.ac.uk

Peter Farley

Co-opted member

Patient education working group

Pharmacist

Email: pharmafellow73@outlook.com 

Despina Karagyri

Co-opted member

Patient education working group

Specialist Physiotherapist in Pain Management, Royal Free London Foundation Trust

Email: d_karargiri@hotmail.co.uk

Dr Paul Cameron 

Council Liaison Officer

National Lead Clinician – Chronic Pain, Scottish Government Lead, Physiotherapist, Pain Service, NHS Fife. Honorary Lecturer, University of Dundee.

Website: http://medicine.dundee.ac.uk/staff-member/dr-paul-cameron

Email: p.a.cameron@dundee.ac.uk 

2 new PLC members to be recruited